Grey Daze Announces 4-Part Documentary Series: “Grey Daze: Creation of The Phoenix”

Grey Daze Announces 4-Part Documentary Series: “Grey Daze: Creation of The Phoenix”



April 28, 2022, PHOENIX — Following the recent announcement of their forthcoming album The Phoenix, Grey Daze, the band who introduced the world to Chester Bennington, today reveals plans for a new documentary series Grey Daze: Creation of The Phoenix. The 4-part series tells the story of the band through the experience of creating the album and Episode 1 is out now on Grey Daze’s Youtube – watch here.

From their teenage days in Phoenix, Arizona, to taking on the challenge of finishing Chester’s dream; to the album’s reworking and selecting the album title and cover art; Grey Daze: Creation of The Phoenix is a story of brotherhood among a band, dealing with changes, and recognizing how full circle life and art can be. The series will roll out episodically this Spring in the lead up to their new album’s release date.

Earlier this month Grey Daze announced they would be releasing their second album The Phoenix on June 17 via Loma Vista Recordings. The follow up to 2020’s Amends, this fiery, newly-recorded, 10-song collection fulfils the surviving band members’ pledge to Bennington. The news came accompanied by lead single ‘Saturation (Strange Love)’ – watch the video here.

Amends was more emotional and reflective,” explains drummer and songwriter Sean Dowdell of the different mood and feel displayed on The Phoenix, which also sees contributions from Dave Navarro, Richard Patrick and Bennington’s daughters, Lily and Lila Bennington. “We felt sad when we were writing it. Now that we’re a couple of years removed, it’s very clear what we were going through. We were at a different stage of grief. We went through the shock and the sadness. Now, we’re back to gratitude. So, The Phoenix is more of a celebration of our friend, his talent, and the music. It captures Chester’s angst and energy that people fell in love with. It’s much more aggressive. If you love Chester’s scream, you’ll love this record.”

Over the course of Grey Daze’s first incarnation, which ran 1993 to 1998, the group recorded and released two albums. It is those albums that serve as a foundation for both Amends and The Phoenix. Prior to Bennington’s passing he publicly announced the Grey Daze’s return, which included re-recording the band’s largely undiscovered discography. With Talinda Bennington’s blessing, and working with Producer Esjay Jones, the surviving band members: Dowdell, bass player Mace Beyers, and guitar player Cristin Davis, moved forward, as both a way to pay tribute to their fallen brother and bandmate, but also to expose his fans to another dimension of the dynamic singer. Amends arrived in 2020, with Rolling StoneRevolverBillboard, and Kerrang! praising the once-in-a-lifetime collection. NME summed it up best as “a great modern rock record fronted by one of the best vocalists in the game.” In late 2020, the trio reconvened with Jones re-recording, and re-working the remaining 10 tracks that would become The Phoenix.

The Phoenix tracklist:

  1. Saturation (Strange Love)
  2. Starting To Fly
  3. Be Your Man
  4. Holding You (featuring Dave Navarro)
  5. Hole
  6. Drag
  7. Believe Me (featuring Richard Patrick)
  8. Anything Anything
  9. Spin
  10. Wake Me

Album pre-orders are available now (, with the collection available across several formats including an array of limited-edition vinyl variants.

Photo credit: Tom Preston

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: