Waxflower Releases “Misaligned Love” ft. Sydney Sprague

Waxflower Releases “Misaligned Love” ft. Sydney Sprague

Release Brand New Single
Misaligned Love” ft. Sydney Sprague
Ahead of Sophomore EP
The Sound of What Went Wrong
Out April 29 via Rude Records

Photo Credit: Mitch Lowe

Recently Featured on New Noise Magazine

April 14, 2022 – Brisbane, AUS – There’s no doubt that adored pop-punk rockers Waxflower have been making a huge impact in the lead up to their sophomore EP The Sound Of What Went Wrong – out Friday April 29th via Rude Records – with the band today releasing the final taste of what is to come with yearning new single Misaligned Love.

Featuring the enthralling vocals of indie pop / rock songstress Sydney Sprague, “Misaligned Love” is about a love connection that can never quite come to fruition, although the stars have certainly aligned for the collaboration between Waxflower and Miss Sprague, and we’re so grateful for it!

“Having the wonderful Sydney Sprague feature on this track was an incredible honour & she really helped to elevate ‘Misaligned Love’ to a place that we couldn’t, without her,” explains drummer Daniel Seymour.

“We’ve been huge fans of hers for a couple of years now, so when the opportunity arose with ‘Misaligned Love’, we reached out to her to feature and thankfully she agreed! She’s just finished touring with Jimmy Eat World & Dashboard Confessional, so no doubt she’ll be over in Australia soon & we can finally celebrate this track together, in person.”

Bristling with a punk-infused longing that encourages the release of emotional turmoil through intense instrumental breakdowns and cathartic vocal deliveries, “Misaligned Love” brings the frustration of missed opportunities to life, as lead vocalist Tristan Higginson explains:

“‘Misaligned Love’ is about timelines that never merged. Two people having feelings for each other at different times in their life that never connected. It’s about coming to terms that in a different timeline things could have been different, and having to mourn the loss of what you never actually had.”

The new track follows a recent trio of singles in “The Drama Scene”, “Soak” and “Ring” which are signaling a bright new era for Waxflower as they delve deeper into nostalgic pop-rock elements from a time where Myspace was king, combined with modern, relatable songwriting and pockets of tantalizing electro-pop.

Never ones to shy away from candid, heart-on-sleeve lyricism, Waxflower’s forthcoming EP The Sound Of What Went Wrong EP is what Higginson describes as “five anthems for the over-thinker” and “the EP a brain writes at 2 AM when it can’t sleep – picking apart every awkward moment and wrong turn, all while wondering what could have been.”

“The last few years have given us more time in our heads than we may have liked. Self-doubt, self-hatred, missed connections, crutches, medication. All the fun stuff is here, wrapped up in songs that capture both the poppiest and heaviest sides of Waxflower to date. I hope people can find something to relate to throughout its runtime.”

Drummer Daniel Seymour explains the EP was recorded over two weeks in Sydney with producer and frequent collaborator Stevie Knight(Stand Atlantic / Yours Truly / Between You & Me). “Those two weeks were spent crafting and perfecting these songs – to become the most accurate representation of who we are as people, musicians, and what we hope Waxflower reflects. I feel this release is just the next step in our progression, a movement forward in the constant search to find “our sound”.

Previous single “The Drama Scene” premiered on triple j’s Short.Fast.Loud program and was also supported by NME, Sounds of Oz, Rocksound, The Music and more. The track has also been added to Amazon Music’s Breakthrough Alternative and Fresh Rockplaylists as well as Spotify’s Local Noise.

“Ring” was supported by the likes of Wall of Sound, The Music, The AU Review, LiveWire AU, Good Call Live, Ticketmaster, Sounds of Oz and more, amongst international coverage from Upset, Bring The Noise, and Punktastic to name a few. The single has seen Waxflower move from strength to strength on streaming platforms, with additions toApple Music’s The New Rock and New In Rock playlists, andAmazon Music’s Punk Scene and Fresh Rock.

Earlier, “Soak”which has clocked over 100k streams, followed on from the band’s heart-on-sleeve debut EP We Might Be Alright (2021). The track caught the attention of both domestic and international media, receiving support from the likes of Wall of Sound, Hysteria, Rock Sound, CLASH, Punktastic, DSCVRD, and more, alongside an addition to triple j Unearthed rotation. “Soak” was also hailed as triple j Unearthed’s ‘Track of the Day’ on release, and landed Waxflower’s first ever BBC Radio 1 spin on Daniel P Carter’s Rock Showalongside airplay on triple j’s Short.Fast.Loud program.

Plenty of playlist support followed suit, with Spotify adding the track toRock Out, The Punk Listand major playlist Pop Punk’s Not Dead,alongside the platform’s viral alternative playlist the locker_“Soak” has also dominated Amazon Music’s alternative playlists, with additions to Punk Scene, Fresh Rock, and Breakthrough Alternative.

About Waxflower:

Formed in 2020, Waxflower was founded via a shared passion for genuine, emotionally charged alternative rock. The band merge influences from Jimmy Eat World, Kisschasy, The Maine & nothing, nowhere to match their unique perspective with progressive melodies and hooks.

Wasting no time, debut singles ‘Cut Your Teeth’ & ‘Back To Back’ saw the band play sold-out shows across Australia, sign with Australian booking agency Select Music, perform alongside global heavyweightsSimple Plan, The Maine, Stand Atlantic, and The Dangerous Summer and finally signed with European label Rude Records (Saves The Day, Less Than Jake, The Maine).

Debut EP We Might Be Alright saw the band return to acclaimed producer Stevie Knight (Stand Atlantic, Between You & Me, Short Stack) to polish off a release that would garner global coverage. Support from international outlets RockSound (UK), Chorus.FM (US) & Kerang! Radio (UK) followed, with the band receiving extensive airplay and scope from Australian youth broadcaster triple j (AU) for singles “Again,” “Not Alone,” with “Food For Your Garden” premiering on triple j’s “Home & Hosed.”

Across platforms, the EP has amassed 270,000+ streams in only 6 months, with fans constantly returning for more. Support from Spotify was immediate, (New Punk Tracks, Local Noise & Pop Punk’s Not Dead) as well as recognition from Apple Music (Rise and Grind, Breaking Rock & New in Alternative), & Amazon Music (Punk Scene, Fresh Rock, Breakthrough Alternative).

2021 saw the band perform at Mountain Goat Valley Crawl, The Zoo’s Anti-Social Series, and Scorched Festival before also selling out their largest headline show to date. Additionally, Waxflower were nominated by Sounds Australia to perform alongside DZ Deathrays, Stand Atlantic, and more as part of Amazon Music’s “Rock Scene Presents” showcase.

Entering the tail-end of 2021 with an expansive new sound, Waxflower’s vision remains constant; to create moments of honesty and vulnerability within their music – doing so through an expansive range of sonic influences.

The Sound of What Went Wrong Tracklisting:

1. Ring

2. Soak

3. The Drama Scene

4. Two Thumbs

5. Misaligned Love

Waxflower Is:

Tristan Higginson

Daniel Seymour

Nick Hargens

Jordan Beard

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: