Secrecies Premiere Visual Album with Various Small Flames

Secrecies Premiere Visual Album with Various Small Flames

Secrecies Premiere Visual Album Series Accompanying Debut S/T LP

PREMIERE: SECRECIES: The Visual Album via Various Small Flames


Dallas-based synth pop act Secrecies have premiered a visual album via Various Small Flames to accompany their self-titled debut released earlier this year on Idol Records.

Curated by Magill and Noga themselves, the visuals were sourced by “constantly scanning public domain archives for historical images to mix up with modern photos as part of fashion look-book remixes and other projects,” the band told Various Small Flames.

“Be it the bug life of ‘So Quickly’, the celestial bodies of the icy ‘Far Away So Close’ or the strangely menacing medieval pantomime of closer ‘When We Speak’,” VSF editor Jon Doyle writes, “each track is marked by a succinct film both abstract and intuitive, lending the band’s name a new significance as the dream logic of image and sound unfolds, meaning leaking from between the frames.”

The visual album is up now on Secrecies’ YouTube page and SECRECIES is out now on Spotify  and Apple Music.

By complete happenstance, Shawn Magill and Joey Noga met at a Cashmere Cat concert at Dallas venue Deep Ellum in 2017. They instantly connected over their obsession with sexy, synth heavy electro pop and formed Secrecies shortly after. Together, their multi-layered chilling harmonies unite over playful pulses, evoking the heartaches and joys of passing youth. They have performed with Alice Merton, Handsome Ghost, Armors, Swimming With Bears, Wilsen, Geneva Jacuzzi, Bad Bad Hats, Night Drive, Nite Jewel and more. 

“Awash in towering, reverb-drenched production, ‘Life We Live’ is a prime example of the connected interplay between Shawn Magill and Joey Noga across their debut.” – HiFi Pig

“Life We Live’ is a track that wraps itself in a whole dreamy vibe… recalls other acts like Of Monsters and Men and Arcade Fire.” – Vents Magazine

“Light and airy with an underlying intensity, it creates a unique mood and compels you to keep pressing play.” – Groundsounds

“The visuals that complement the cathartic waves of wistfulness… is something that takes Secrecies’ already head-turning artistry to a new and absolutely higher level.” – Destroy // Exist

“‘Hole in my Heart’ really feels like the full experience, as if every scintilla of noise was wrung from the machines and a chorus that has extracted the same from the humans. Could be St. Etienne at their ‘Like A Motorway’ pomp and, for that reason and many more, we should celebrate a song so immediate it could turn a bad day around.” – mp3hugger


1. Life We Live
2. Anything At All
3. Just Words
4. So Quickly
5. Everywhere To Me
6. Far Away So Close
7. Falling For You
8. Hole In My Heart
9. Feel Safe
10. I Want Peace
11. When We Speak


Website |

Instagram |

Spotify |

Facebook |

Twitter |

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: